Serving Franklin County, WA

Schmunk, Weidemann lead Lind primary election races

Horton and Dworshak running in second place in races for Position Nos. 4 and 5

LIND - Preliminary primary election returns show Jamie Schmunk and Jim Weidemann leading Town Council races.

At the end of counting Tuesday night, Aug. 1, Schmuck had 62 votes (37.8%) to lead the race for Town Council Position No. 4. Myra J. Horton was second with 47 votes (28.66%).

In the race for Town Council Position No. 2, Weidemann led with 53 votes (32.32%), followed by James N. Dworshak in second with 44 votes (26.83%).

Only the Top 2 advance to the Nov. 7 general election.

Other candidates in the race for Position No. 4 included Heather Reed in third with 39 votes (23.78%), Christopher Olson fourth with 9 votes (5.49%) and Richard Baldwin fifth with 7 votes (4.27%).

In the race for Position No. 5, Denise Snead was third with 31 votes (18.90%) and Birana Osborn fourth with 29 votes (17.68%). P.J. Jacobsen was in last place with 7 votes (4.27%).

The Adams County Auditor's Office reported a voter turnout of 47.81% in the Lind races.

Late-arriving ballots have yet to be counted.

Author Bio

Roger Harnack, Publisher

Author photo

Roger Harnack is the co-owner/publisher of Free Press Publishing. Having grown up Benton City, Roger is an award-winning journalist, photographer, editor and publisher. He's one of only two editorial/commentary writers from Washington state to ever receive the international Golden Quill. Roger is dedicated to the preservation of local media, and the voice it retains for Eastern Washington.


Reader Comments(0)