Franklin Connection - Serving Franklin County, WA

Author photo

By Roger Harnack
Franklin Connection 

Multiple candidates file for office

No contested races, yet, as filing continues through Friday


Last updated 5/19/2021 at 5:54pm

PASCO – While a number have candidates have filed for office this week, so far there are not any competitive races.

Candidate filing week started Monday and concludes Friday, both in-person and on-line.

As of 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 19 – about halfway through the filing week – the following candidates had filed for the 27 offices that are up for grabs in the Nov. 2 general election:

Connell City Council

• Position No. 1/Mayor – Lee Barrow of Connell

• Position No. 2 – John White of Connell

• Position No. 3 – Patricia Barrera of Connell

• Position No. 4 – Joe Escalera of Connell

Franklin County

Cemetery District No. 1

• Position No. 3 – Candi Roach of Kahlotus

Cemetery District No. 2

• Position No. 2 – Shelly Harper of Connell

Fire Protection District No. 2

• Position No. 1 – Shawn Ayers of Kahlotus

• Position No. 4 – Joe Roach of Kahlotus

Fire Protection District No. 3

• Position No. 3 – Glen Clifford of Pasco

Fire Protection District No. 4

• Position No. 1 – Doug Smith of Othello

• Position No. 3 – Kim A. Pauley of Mesa

Public Hospital District No. 1

• District No. 3, Position No. 3 – Mike Harrington of Connell

Kahlotus City Council

• Position No. 1/Mayor – Marcia Robitaille of Kahlotus

Mesa City Council

• Position No. 3 – Brandon Eveland of Mesa

• Position No. 5 – Maria Chiprez of Mesa

• Position No. 6/Mayor – Merlin Giesbrecht of Mesa

North Franklin School Board

• District No. 4, Position No. 4 – Pat Hailey of Mesa

Othello School Board

• Director District No. 1 – Jenn Stevenson of Othello

• Director District No. 3 – Kenneth Johnson of Othello

• Director District No. 4 (At-Large) – Lindsy Mollotte Prows of Othello


City Council

• District No. 1, Position No. 1 – Blanche Barajas of Pasco

• District No. 4, Position No. 4 – Pete Serrano of Pasco

• District No. 6, Position No. 6 – Craig Maloney of Pasco


• Commissioner District No. 3 – Jim Klindworth of Pasco

School Board

• At-Large Position No. 4 – Steve Simmons of Pasco

Washtucna School District

• Director Position No. 4 – Steve Crouse of Washtucna

Author Bio

Roger Harnack, Publisher

Roger Harnack is the co-owner/publisher of Free Press Publishing. Having grown up Benton City, Roger is an award-winning journalist, photographer, editor and publisher. He's one of only two editorial/commentary writers from Washington state to ever receive the international Golden Quill. Roger is dedicated to the preservation of local media, and the voice it retains for Eastern Washington.

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 5092356184
Twitter: @RogerHarnack


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Cheney Free Press
Ritzville Adams County Journal
Whitman County Gazette
Odessa Record
Franklin Connection
Davenport Times
Spokane Valley News Herald
Colfax Daily Bulletin

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 05/19/2023 07:10